...... heard Board member, Susan Daiber, recite the Elkhart Promise.

...... approved the following items under a consent approval:

Minutes – September 22, 2020 – Public Work Session Minutes – September 22, 2020 – Regular Board Meeting

Claims in the amount of \$13,003,523.29.

Gift Acceptance:

Donations of \$500 each from First State Bank, Genesis Products, LLC, Hoosier Crane Service Company, and Heng's Industries USA for the Elkhart High School (EHS) wrestling program; \$11,500 from the Elkhart Education Foundation to support the purchase of EHS athletic uniforms; donation of 8,000 disposal masks, 1 non-contact thermometer, and 2 gallons of sanitizer from the Elkhart County Health Department for students and staff; 4,200 additional masks made by the Elkhart County Student Mask volunteer team; and 720 backpacks with supplies from the WNDU Pack-A-Backpack drive for distribution by social workers and available at the Elkhart Education Foundation teacher store.

Proposed school fundraisers in accordance with Board policy.

An extra-curricular purchase request from Elkhart High School's athletic department to purchase an ES Tour Plus Launch Monitor for boys and girls golf in the amount of \$2,600; and from Elkhart High School to assist with construction of an outside classroom in the amount of \$14,000.

Grants submissions: to the Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) for the for an Indiana Literacy Early Intervention Grant in the amount of \$34,498.17; to the IDOE for Teacher Leader Boot Camp from Pinewood in the amount of \$4,000; to the Department of Workforce for a Workforce Ready Grant from Community Education in the amount of \$5,000 per individual for training; to United Way of Elkhart County for a Bullying Prevention/Move 2 Stand Grant from Student Services in the amount of \$18,000; and to Generation On for a Learning to Give Grant from Daly in the amount of \$250.

**Conference Leave Request** 

Personnel Report:

Consent agreements regarding unpaid time for two (2) certified staff members.

Resignation of the following two (2) certified staff members: Shane Betzer, intervention at Hawthorne; and Kathryn Bromen, technology integrator at ESC.

Maternity leave for the following two (2) certified staff members: Maegan Banicki, special education at EHS West; and Lyndel Borener, music at Woodland.

Employment of the following thirty-four (34) classified employees: Rebecca Allen, bus driver at Transportation; Alexis Bails, paraprofessional at Feeser; Shena Boone, food service at EHS East; Cordelia Brown, food service at Hawthorne; Allene Cart, food service at EHS West; David Chaney, bus driver at Transportation; Geoffrey DiPiro, paraprofessional at PACE; Christina English, food service at Cleveland; Carrie Faught, food service at North Side; Christopher Flanagan, electrician at Building Services; Melissa Flory, paraprofessional at EHS East; Ashley Fogarty, technical assistant at Pierre Moran; Christina Fogelsanger, food service at North Side; Brandin Fontes, registered nurse at Pierre Moran; Kylie Giger, campus security at EHS West; Paula Gluck, food service at EHS West; Carlos Harris, permanent substitute at Beardsley; Alan Kist, bus driver at Transportation; Casey Lott, paraprofessional at Beardsley; Naily Luzardo Soto, paraprofessional at Hawthorne; Letha Marshall, paraprofessional at Eastwood; Korena Massey, paraprofessional at Roosevelt; Michelle Masten, registered nurse at Riverview; Gregory McMillan, paraprofessional at Cleveland; Raegan Minear, social worker at Pierre Moran; Breanna Miranda, bus driver at Transportation; Brooke Murray, social worker at Beardsley; Joanna Pizana, bus driver at Transportation; Brian Prugh, bus driver at Transportation; Stephanie Slagel, food service at Woodland; Nicholas Srmek, paraprofessional at PACE; Sanara Warren, bus driver at Transportation; Joan Wells, paraprofessional at EHS West; and James Wooten, paraprofessional at Feeser.

Resignation of the following five (5) classified employees: Tina Lewis, food service at North Side/Roosevelt; Douglas May, bus driver at Transportation; Joel Mbugua, bus driver at Transportation; Randolph Roby, bus helper at Transportation; and Belinda Siler, custodian at EHS West.

Leave for the following eight (8) classified employees: Kimberly Bishop, paraprofessional at North Side; Irenna Coleman, food service at EHS West, Robert Gray, food service at Pierre Moran; Tonci Haynes, food service at EHS East; Emily Lewandowski, social worker at Monger; Christina Miller, bus driver at Transportation; Retha Miller, bus driver at Transportation; and Brenda White, food service at Woodland.

Termination of the following five (5) classified employees: Kelly Davis, paraprofessional at Roosevelt; Letitia DeNeal, bus helper at Transportation; Yvonne Gefri, food service at North Side; Marsha Hall, bus helper at Transportation; and Samantha Negrete Gonzalez, bus driver at Transportation.

...... heard School Improvement Plan presentations from Riverview, Feeser, Beck and West Side schools.

...... approved the Bus Driver and Helper Retention Payment Memorandum.

- ...... held a public hearing on the 2021 Budget, 2021 Capital Projects Plan and 2021 School Bus Replacement Plan was opened. Kevin Scott, chief financial officer, reviewed the budget and plans, outlining the changes that have taken place in 2020. Mr. Scott responded to an audience member questions regarding purchase of equipment on school buses and Federal funds. With no further comments from the audience, the hearing was closed.
- .....approved textbook rental fees for the 2020-2021 school year.
- ....... appointed Nancy Morgan to a partial term to complete the unexpired term of Cyd Sunday through June 2023 to the Bristol Public Library Board.
- ...... confirmed the submission of a School Technology Advancement Account Petition to the Indiana State Board of Education for an advance from the Common School Fund in the amount of \$1,170,300.
- ......heard Superintendent Thalheimer recognize Carolyn Morris' 20-year commitment to the Board.
- ......heard an audience member recognize the efforts of Jon Chevalier and the Transportation Department to arrange transportation for interns at the high school.